THE BELLE TOUT LIGHTHOUSE AT BIRLING GAP
 
 
The Belle Tout Lighthouse was built in 1832 and came into operation on the 11th October 1834. It was decommissioned in 1902 due to constant cliff top fogs and the threat of erosion.

It then became a tea house, bought as a family home by Sir James Purves-Stewart in 1923 and almost completely destroyed during the Second World War. It was restored as a family home, owned by the BBC to film The Life and Loves of a She-Devil and then moved back from the eroding cliff in 1999.

David and Barbara Shaw bought Belle Tout in 2008 and spent two years renovating it until, finally, in 2010, the Belle Tout Lighthouse opened for guests as a unique bed and breakfast.
Return to Album
RSS: RSS Mash | Blog | Photos RSS