THE CHURCH OF ST MARY, BICTON
 
 
In 1850, Lady Louisa Rolle commemorated her late husband by building a new church on the estate close to the old one, which was partly demolished and the chancel reworked by Augustus Pugin as a mausoleum to the Rolle family. The mausoleum, which is not open to the public, contains Minton floor tiles, a vaulted ceiling, east and west decorated windows by Pugin, and a Rolle monument on the north wall designed by George Myers.[4] It also contains the baroque marble tomb of Denys Rolle (died 1638) and his wife and son, which was described by W. G. Hoskins as "magnificent".[8] Some fifty years before its demolition, the topographer John Swete made a watercolour painting of the old church, and wrote of its picturesque setting in his journal in 1795.[9]

The church of 1850 was designed by the Exeter-based architect, John Hayward: Hoskins simply called it "dull",[8] though it was later described as an early example in Devon of the ideals of the Cambridge Camden Society.
(ref: Wikepedia)

The font is made of Caen stone carved by Samuel Rowe of Exeter
Return to Album
RSS: RSS Mash | Blog | Photos RSS